Meet the Team

The APTCOO team represents education, health and care, private and voluntary sector. Our investment in training and development is exemplary. Each year we support staff and volunteers within heir chosen fields of work to develop their skills, qualifications and areas of personal development. We work together with local colleges and universities providing high quality placements.

Our environment lends itself to research and development, this is recognised and rewarded with qualified therapists spending time with APTCOO to carry out their University placement. Their experience, findings and recommendations for change are transferred into high quality reports shared with the Board and contributing to the future design, business planning of APTCOO.

Leadership and Management Team

  • Carol Burkitt, CEO and School Proprietor    

  • James Wilson, Headteacher

  • Karen Kilner, Head of Care & Support Services and Compliance

  • Michaela Ledsham, SENCo

  • Martin Cope, Post-16 Enterprise Lead

Charity Board / School Governors

  • David Liggins, Chairman

  • Trish Green, Safeguarding Lead

  • Lee Piercy, Trustee

  • ​Matt Abdy, Trustee

  • Karen Kilner, Advisory to the Board

  • Mike Holmes, Trustee

Administration and Business Support

  • Sandra Edwards, Business Admin. Apprentice

  • Leah Gorstridge, Family Liaison

  • Jacob Graley, Preparing for Adulthood & Operations Coordinator

  • Mike Holmes, Communications 

  • Alicia Walker, Business Admin. Apprentice

  • Sam Wright, Admin. & Finance Lead


  • Nigel Burkitt

  • Gary Richards

  • Cath Spencer

Teaching and Support Team

  • Abby Armstrong

  • Louisa Eades

  • Olivia Fisher 

  • Tracy Ford

  • Becky Hayes

  • Shannon Hutchins

  • Jonathan Hunt 

  • Ruth Kellett 

  • Michael Linney

  • Joe Lloyd 

  • Nicola Marsh 

  • Kaja Mroczkowska

  • Sophie Price

  • Richard Wilcock

Workforce Planning

We are committed to supporting, enabling and celebrating volunteering in all its diversity. APTCOO volunteers include people from all walks of life. We have an established and growing team of volunteers including parents, carers, students, professionals and willing members of the community. We recognise the value that volunteers bring to our services and also to the individuals themselves. Over 50% of the APTCOO workforce started off as volunteers, we support through a comprehensive training, coaching and mentoring programme.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

We take our roles and responsibilities seriously in respect of equality, diversity and inclusion. We also believe that we should use our wider influence as a local partner to secure outcomes for some of the marginalised members of our local communities.

Grow Your Own Workforce.jpg